ZUSAMMENreden

ZUSAMMENreden

The project ZUSAMMENreden was dedicated to the linguistic diversity at Styrian elementary schools. Our research questions were: How can living together in a multilingual school setting be successful? How can this process be supported? What would language-friendly spaces look like? Our indirect objective for this project was to act as a catalyst for a societal change of values in which multilingualism is considered an asset – a resource for the individual as well as for society as a whole. This means stepping away from focusing on the negatively-connotated image of a “non-German native language”.

Read more

Voicing People

Voicing People

On the European Day of Languages, 26 September 2012, treffpunkt sprachen – Plurilingualism Research Unit, Akademie Graz and the association [spiːk] offered another tour through Graz with the popular language bus.

Read more

wir spechen uns

wir spechen uns

The animated short film wir sprechen uns by Julia Laggner and Andrea Markart displays the diverse multilingual reality of six fictional characters.

Read more

Linguistic Landscape Deluxe

Linguistic Landscape Deluxe

Linguistic diversity is an important cultural resource of the world. Every language has its unique characteristics and is tied to a distinctive understanding of the world. It is essential that young people get to know and speak the language of their culture. Languages facilitate our personal development and expand our horizons.

Read more

My Languages

My Languages

Prior to the exhibition Sprachenlandschaft Graz. Eine Stadt spricht 150 Sprachen, treffpunkt sprachen – Plurilingualism Research Unit held interviews with multilingual people from Graz, in cooperation with ORF Styria. The interviews were broadcasted through Radio Steiermark and presented at the exhibition. In the interviews, people talk about how and why they came to Graz, about their lives in Graz, about their languages, and tell us what they like about Graz and Styria. In addition, each interview features one of many languages used in Graz.

Read more

Language Bus 31

Language Bus 31

On the occasion of the "Lange Nacht der Sprachen" (Long Night of Languages) in September 2010, the association [spiːk], treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualism Research Unit, and Akademie Graz offered a tour with the “language bus 31”.

Read more

Linguistic Landscape Graz

Linguistic Landscape Graz

Graz is known to be UNESCO World Heritage, City of Human Rights, Capital of Culture and Delight and – as of 2011 – City of Design. However, most people are unfamiliar with Graz’s role as “City of Languages”: An impressive 150 different languages are used in Graz!

Read more

ZUSAMMENreden

ZUSAMMENreden

Das Projekt ZUSAMMENreden hat sich der sprachlichen Vielfalt an steirischen Volksschulen gewidmet. Unsere Fragen waren: Wie kann ein Zusammenleben in vielen Sprachen an der Schule gelingen? Und wie kann man diesen Prozess unterstützen? Was wären sprachenfreundliche Räume? Unser Ziel im Hintergrund war, einen gesellschaftlichen Wertewandel in Gang zu setzen, nämlich Mehrsprachigkeit als Schatz zu sehen, als individuelle wie gesellschaftliche Ressource. Und nicht mehr nur das Faktum der – noch dazu mit einem defizitären Begriff versehenen – „nicht-deutschen Muttersprache“ im Auge zu haben.

Mehr lesen

Voicing People

Voicing People

Am 26. September 2012, dem Europäischen Tag der Sprachen, luden treffpunkt sprachen/ Plurilingualismus, Akademie Graz und [spiːk] zu einer neuerlichen Rundreise durch Graz mit dem beliebten Sprachenbus durch Graz.

Mehr lesen

wir spechen uns

wir spechen uns

Der Animationskurzfilm wir sprechen uns von Julia Laggner und Andrea Markart stellt die Mehrsprachigkeit im Alltag von sechs fiktiven Menschen in ihrer Vielfalt dar.

Mehr lesen

Sprachenlandschaft Deluxe

Sprachenlandschaft Deluxe

Die Vielfalt der Sprachen ist eine wichtige kulturelle Ressource der Welt. Jede Sprache hat ihre Besonderheit und eröffnet einen bestimmten Blick auf die Welt. Es ist wichtig, dass junge Menschen die Sprachen ihrer Kultur lernen und sprechen. Sprachen bereichern die Persönlichkeitsbildung und erweitern unseren Horizont.

Mehr lesen

Meine Sprachen

Meine Sprachen

Im Vorfeld der Ausstellung Sprachenlandschaft Graz. Eine Stadt spricht 150 Sprachen wurden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem ORF Steiermark Interviews mit mehrsprachigen Menschen aus Graz geführt. Die Interviews wurden auf Radio Steiermark gesendet und auch in der Ausstellung präsentiert. In den Interviews erzählen Menschen wie oder warum sie nach Graz gekommen sind, wie sie hier mit ihren Sprachen leben und was ihnen besonders an Graz und der Steiermark gefällt. In jedem der Interviews ist auch eine in Graz gesprochene Sprache hörbar.

Mehr lesen

Sprachenbuslinie 31

Sprachenbuslinie 31

Anlässlich der „Langen Nacht der Sprachen” luden der Verein [spiːk], treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualismus und Akademie Graz im September 2010 zu einer Fahrt mit der Sprachenbuslinie 31.

Mehr lesen

Sprachenlandschaft Graz

Sprachenlandschaft Graz

Graz ist bekannt als UNESCO-Welterbe, Stadt der Menschenrechte, Kultur- und Genusshauptstadt und seit 2011 auch als „City of Design“. Weitgehend unbekannt ist jedoch die Rolle von Graz als „Stadt der Sprachen“: Unglaubliche 150 verschiedene Sprachen werden in Graz gesprochen!

Mehr lesen