Discourses on language and diversity

Discourses on language and diversity

a sociolinguistic-ethnographic study of multilingualism in Austrian schools

Cities are becoming sites of increasingly complex ethnolinguistic plurality due to increased mobility and the impact of globalization. Public places like schools reflect this ethnolinguistic diversity, and, moreover, disseminate and maintain dominant discourses on heterogeneity, plurality, and linguistic diversity. This project focuses on discourses related to the linguistic diversity in schools, which is made up of the variety of languages that are taught as subjects, in addition to those within pupils’ complex linguistic repertoires.

This study follows a poststructuralist approach in the field of critical sociolinguistics. It draws on an ethnographic study carried out in two secondary schools in Graz, Austria, both of which have a significant number of multilingual pupils. The data gathered consists of observations, interviews, focus group interviews, and impressions of the linguistic landscape.

The results show that the participants co-constructed and reproduced the following discourses: discourses on the normativity of language competencies and multilingualism, discourses on the social functions of languages, discourses on diversity, and discourses on asymmetries of languages. It follows that there are significant differences in the nature of the discourse in relation to particular languages and the contexts in which they are used; for instance, the use of pupils’ home languages, such as Bosnian, Arabic, and Turkish, in school is predominantly linked with instances of conflict and antisocial practices. Even though multilingualism is a reality in heterogeneous schools, and despite schools’ attempts to adopt positive attitudes towards diversity, conflicting discourses are reproduced.Overall, discourses on multilingualism, linguistic diversity, and their speakers are shaped by wider discourses on languages, which schools play a significant part in both communicating and maintaining.

Credits

Persons responsible: Christina Korb

Back

Diskurse über Sprache und Vielfalt

Diskurse über Sprache und Vielfalt

Eine soziolinguistisch-ethnographische Untersuchung zum Thema Mehrsprachigkeit an österreichischen Schulen

Insbesondere in Städten steigt die ethnolinguistische Pluralität aufgrund wachsender Mobilitätsraten und Auswirkungen der Globalisierung. Öffentliche Orte wie Schulen spiegeln die ethnolinguistische Vielfalt wider und verbreiten und erhalten vorherrschende Diskurse über Heterogenität, Pluralität und sprachliche Vielfalt. Der Schwerpunkt dieser Arbeit liegt auf Diskursen über sprachliche Vielfalt an Schulen, die sich neben den komplexen sprachlichen Repertoires der Schüler_innen aus der Vielfalt der unterrichteten Sprachen zusammensetzt.

Das Projekt verfolgt einen poststrukturalistischen Ansatz im Bereich der kritischen Soziolinguistik. Im Rahmen dessen wurde eine ethnographische Studie an zwei weiterführenden Schulen in Graz (Österreich), die eine große Anzahl an mehrsprachigen Schüler_innen aufweisen, durchgeführt. Die gesammelten Daten bestehen aus Beobachtungen, Interviews, Fokusgruppeninterviews und Eindrücken der Sprachenlandschaft. Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass folgende Diskurse gemeinsam konstruiert und reproduziert wurden: Diskurse über die Normativität von Sprachkompetenzen und Mehrsprachigkeit, Diskurse über soziale Funktionen von Sprachen, Diskurse über Diversität sowie Diskurse über Sprachasymmetrien. Es zeigen sich etwa signifikante Unterschiede in Bezug auf bestimmte Sprachen und den Kontext, in dem sie verwendet werden, z. B. wird die Verwendung von home languages wie Bosnisch, Arabisch oder Türkisch in der Schule vorwiegend mit Konflikten und exkludierenden Praktiken assoziiert.

Zusammenfassend kann festgehalten werden, dass, obwohl Mehrsprachigkeit in heterogenen Schulen eine Realität ist und Schulen eine positive Einstellung zur ethnolinguistischen Vielfalt zeigen, widersprüchliche Diskurse reproduziert wurden. Insgesamt sind Diskurse über Mehrsprachigkeit, sprachliche Vielfalt und ihre Sprecher_innen Teile weiterer umfangreicher Diskurse über Sprachen, in denen Schulen eine wichtige Rolle bei Weitergabe und Erhalt spielen.

Credits

Verantwortliche: Christina Korb

Zurück