Traces of covert multilingualism in Graz in the 1880-1910 census data

Traces of covert multilingualism in Graz in the 1880-1910 census data

Main priority of the project Traces of covert multilingualism in Graz in the 1880-1910 census data will be the reconstruction of historical multilingualism on the basis of census data from 1880-1910. Although the census forms recorded the citizen's vernacular language, their actual multilingualism remained invisible as a result of interventions in the census process (deletion of certain languages).

In the 19th century, Graz (like other European cities) developed into an important center of social change and was characterized by immigration and expansion. From the 1880 census onwards, the citizens' vernacular languages were recorded, which, however, produced contradictory data as far as linguistic diversity is concerned: in 1900, 29.795 people statedthat they were from Slovenian-speaking regions, but only 1.430 mentioned Slovenian as their language of everyday life. Source material from original census forms show that interventions occurred, such as the deletion of non-German languages. Hence, the processes of completion and evaluation of the original census forms can hardly be considered an ideology-free practice.

Until today, academic research works with official statistical information that is based on the deletion of languages and reflects only a small percentage of non-German speaking persons. This project seeks to provide a critical appraisal of the original census forms. In the course of the project and as an important additional result of the research process, census files will be accessed and digitalized.

Aims of the project are

  • the reconstruction of historical multilingualism in Graz that has so far been invisible

  • the reconstruction of language biographies as individual representations of statistical data

  • a critical representation and discussion of discourses on practices of completion and evaluation of statistical data

A basic assumption of the project is that migration and mobility are permanent and ongoing processes. Cities have always been preferred places of settlement for newcomers, from outside as well as within national borders. Urban settings are often characterized by a juxtaposition and an interplay of "old" and "new" forms of plurality that are expressed in sociocultural and linguistic diversity.

The project combines quantitative and qualitative methods in its analysis of the micro and macro layers of historical multilingualism. The quantitative analysis comprisesan evaluation of the original census forms of approximately ten percent of all houses located in Graz with a focus on vernacular language, place of birth, and social structure. The qualitative analysis focuses on language biographies of individual speakers. Additionally, the biographical trajectories of people beyond the censuses will be traced in order to reveal possible correlations between their languages of everyday life and their socio-economic status. The project will furthermore analyze the language ideologies and discourses that are behind the census practices; the framework of critical discourse analysis will be applied for this task.

Credits

A project by treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualism Research Unit at University of Graz

Persons responsible: Elke Murlasits

Photography: city archive Graz, scan of the questionnaire for Ballhausgasse 3, census 1880

Back

Zeugnisse verdrängter Mehrsprachigkeit in den Operaten der Volkszählungen 1880-1910 in Graz

Zeugnisse verdrängter Mehrsprachigkeit in den Operaten der Volkszählungen 1880-1910 in Graz

Priorität des Forschungsprojekts Zeugnisse verdrängter Mehrsprachigkeit in den Operaten der Volkszählungen 1880-1910 in Grazist es die historische Mehrsprachigkeit anhand der Grazer Volkszählungen 1880-1910 zu rekonstruieren.

Im 19. Jahrhundert wuchs Graz, wie viele europäische Städte, zu einem bedeutenden Zentrum gesellschaftlicher Veränderungen heran und war geprägt von Zuwanderung und Expansion. Im Rahmen des Zensus ab 1880 wurden die Umgangssprachen der Bevölkerung erfragt, was jedoch widersprüchliche Angaben in Bezug auf die sprachliche Diversität zeigte: 1900 gaben 29.795 Personen an aus slowenisch sprechenden Gebieten zu kommen, aber nur 1.430 nannten Slowenisch als Umgangssprache.Das Quellenmaterial der Originalbögen belegt Interventionen wie etwa Streichungen der nicht deutschen Umgangssprachen. Somit kann das Ausfüllen sowie Auswerten der Operate kaum als ideologiefreie Praxis betrachtet werden.

Bis heute arbeitet die Forschung mit den offiziellen Statistiken, in denen die Streichungen der Umgangssprachen aufgenommen wurden und so ein geringer Anteil an nicht-deutschsprechenden Personen aufscheint. Dieses Forschungsprojekt soll eine quellenkritische Betrachtung der Originalbögen liefern. Weiters sollen im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts die Akten der Volkszählungen erschlossen und digitalisiert werden.

Ziele des Forschungsprojekts sind

  • die Rekonstruktion bislang unsichtbarer historischer Mehrsprachigkeit von Graz

  • Rekonstruktionen exemplarischer Sprachbiographien als Repräsentation der individuellen Ebene der statistischen Daten

  • eine kritische Darstellung der Diskurse rund um Praktiken des Ausfüllens/Auswertens

Eine Grundannahme dieses Projektes ist die Permanenz von Migration und Mobilität. Städte waren dabei immer die bevorzugten Siedlungsgebiete für Neuankommende, sowohl von außerhalb, als auch innerhalb nationaler Grenzen. Städte charakterisieren daher ein Nebeneinander historischer und gegenwärtiger Formen von Pluralität, die sich in soziokultureller und linguistischer Diversität äußern.

Das Forschungsprojekt kombiniert quantitative und qualitative Methoden, um die Mikro- und Makroebene der historischen Mehrsprachigkeit zu untersuchen. Die quantitative Analyse besteht aus einer Auswertung der Operate von knapp zehn Prozent aller Häuser im Grazer Stadtraum und berücksichtigt die Aspekte Umgangssprache, Geburtsort sowie Sozialstruktur. Die qualitative Analyse befasst sich mit exemplarischen Sprachbiographien einzelner Sprecher*innen. Es werden Personen über die Volkszählungen hinweg beobachtet, um mögliche Korrelationen zwischen Umgangssprache, sozialem Status und Lebensumständen aufzuzeigen. Darüber hinaus untersucht das Projekt die Sprachideologien und Diskurse, die hinter den Praktiken des Ausfüllens und Auswertens der Operate stehen, im Rahmen einer kritischen Diskursanalyse.

Credits

Ein Projekt von treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualismus der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Verantwortliche: Elke Murlasits, Christina Korb, Angelika Heiling

Zurück