Language dynamics of three multilingual communities in Graz

Language dynamics of three multilingual communities in Graz

The study Language dynamics of three multilingual communities in Graz is carried out in the context of Multilingual Graz. During a pilot phase, we investigate the sociolinguistic situation of three multilingual communities.

The three sub-projects collect data on language use, language attitudes, and language transmission through semi-structured interviews. Data on language use describe the linguistic repertoires of the respective multilingual communities and demonstrate the function and status of individual languages. Language attitude as an emotive parameter offers information on dominant language ideologies and group identity. Both emotive and functional parameters influence language transmission, which reveals, amongst others, intergenerational changes regarding proficiency and use of languages. This project aims to describe language plurality in the context of urban multilingualism and, furthermore, to highlight the socio-political relevance of the speakers’ languages.

The sub-project ‘The first language that comes - we speak it’: African communities in Graz with a focus on Rwanda/Rundi speakers deals with speakers from Rwanda and Burundi whose linguistic repertoire comprises of Kinyarwanda, Kirundi, as well as Swahili, English and/or French. In general, the linguistic repertoires of African communities consist of varieties of numerous languages: besides German, speakers use one or more languages of their regions of origin, usually including a lingua franca and one or more ex-colonial languages. Thus, code-switching is a common feature of everyday communication. In Europe, many African languages remain to a large extent invisible. Scarce knowledge and disregard for dominated languages based on the monolingual habitus of European nation states leads to the marginalization of African languages. Consequently, this sub-project addresses questions of prestige, social function and the role for identity formation in different age cohorts of this community.

The sub-project PIZ – Persian is like sugar: the Persian language community addresses speakers with a migration background from Iran. Some speakers among the community migrated to Austria at the beginning of the 1980s and have thus been living in Graz for more than thirty years. The following generations have been born and raised in Austria. They have passed through the educational system with an above-average rate of high educational qualifications. The linguistic repertoire of first-generation speakers comprises of Persian/Farsi, German, and sometimes other linguistic varieties from their region of origin such as Azeri, Arabic, Armenian, Balochi, Mazanderani, and Kurdish varieties. The main focus of this project lies on the changing functions of the linguistic repertoires across generations, as well as on the speakers’ attitudes towards the status and prestige of their languages.

The sub-project ‘The small languages leave‘: Minority languages of the Turkish community in Graz focuses on the linguistic situation of families that have migrated to Graz from Turkey, some of which have been living in the city for decades. The linguistic repertoire of the community consists of proficiencies in German while reflecting the linguistic diversity of their country of origin. Nearly 40% of Turkish migrants in Europe are speakers of minority languages. A basic assumption is that the language policy of the country of origin shapes the sociolinguistic situation of the language community during migration. In this context, the numerically strongest language is Kurmanji. Due to current developments, the Kurdish community in Graz is in a process of linguistic transformation and restructuring. Therefore, Kurds from Syria are included in this study as well.

Link to publication: http://glm.uni-graz.at/publications/gps.html

Credits

A project by treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualism Research Unit at University of Graz

Persons responsible: Martin Fripertinger, Agnes Grond, Kerstin Gruber, Angelika Heiling, Christina Korb

Back

Repertoiredynamiken in der Migration am Beispiel dreier Sprecher_innengemeinschaften

Repertoiredynamiken in der Migration am Beispiel dreier Sprecher_innengemeinschaften

Die Studie Repertoiredynamiken in der Migration am Beispiel dreier Sprecher_innengemeinschaften steht im Kontext des Multilingual-Graz-Projekts. In einer Pilotphase wird die soziolinguistische Situation von drei Gemeinschaften untersucht.

Mithilfe semistrukturierter Interviews werden Daten zu Sprachverwendung, Spracheinstellung und Sprachtradierung erhoben. Die Sprachverwendung beschreibt das sprachliche Repertoire der jeweiligen Sprecher_innengemeinschaft und reflektiert neben der Funktionalität auch den Status der einzelnen Sprachen. Als emotiver Parameter gibt die Spracheinstellung Aufschluss über dominante Ideologien und die Rolle der jeweiligen Sprache als gruppenkonstituierenden Identitätsfaktor. Funktionale und emotive Faktoren beeinflussen die Sprachtradierung, die u. a. den Kompetenz- und Gebrauchswandel zwischen den Generationen aufzeigt. Ziel des Projekts ist die Beschreibung sprachlicher Pluralität im Kontext urbaner Mehrsprachigkeit, um die soziopolitische Relevanz der einzelnen Sprachen aufzuzeigen.

Das Teilprojekt ‘Die erste Sprache, die kommt, sprechen wir‘: Afrikanische Gemeinschaften in Graz mit Fokus auf Ruanda/Rundi-Sprecher_innen befasst sich mit Kinyarwanda- und Kirundi-Sprecher_innen aus Rwanda bzw. Burundi, die zusätzlich Swahili sowie Englisch und/oder Französisch verwenden. Die linguistischen Repertoires afrikanischer Gemeinschaften bestehen immer aus Varietäten mehrerer Sprachen: neben dem Deutschen, eine oder mehrere Sprachen der Herkunftsregion, darunter meist eine afrikanische Verkehrssprache, und eine, manchmal mehrere ehemalige Kolonialsprachen. Code-Switching ist folglich ein wesentliches Merkmal des kommunikativen Alltags. In Europa bleiben afrikanische Sprachen weitgehend unsichtbar. Mangelndes Wissen und die Geringschätzung dominierter Sprachen aufgrund des monolingualen Habitus europäischer Nationalstaaten führen zur Marginalisierung afrikanischer Sprachen. Wichtige Fragen in der Untersuchung sind folglich Prestige, Funktionalität und die identitätsstiftende Rolle dieser Sprachen für die verschiedenen Altersgruppen.

Das Teilprojekt PIZ – Persisch ist Zucker: Zur persischen Sprecher_innengemeinschaftbeschäftigt sich mit Sprecher_innen iranischen Migrationshintergrunds. Die heute Älteren innerhalb der Sprecher_innengemeinschaft kamen Anfang der 1980er Jahre nach Österreich und leben demgemäß bereits mehr als dreißig Jahre in Graz. Mitglieder der folgenden Generationen sind hier geboren und sozialisiert. Sie haben das heimische Schulsystem durchlaufen, wobei der Anteil an höheren Bildungsabschlüssen überdurchschnittlich ist. Das sprachliche Repertoire der ersten Generation umfasst neben mündlicher und schriftlicher Verwendung des Persischen bzw. Farsi manchmal auch Varietäten anderer Sprachen der Herkunftsregion (u. a. Azeri, Arabisch, Armenisch, Belutschisch, Mazanderani sowie Varietäten des Kurdischen). Im Fokus der Untersuchung stehen einerseits funktionale Veränderungen im Repertoire über die Generationen, anderseits aber auch deren Einstellungen bezüglich Status und Prestige der einzelnen Sprachen.

Das Teilprojekt ‘Die kleinen Sprachen gehen‘: Minderheitensprachen in der türkischen Sprecher_innengemeinschaft in Graz befasst sich mit der sprachlichen Situation innerhalb von Familien mit türkischem Migrationshintergrund, die z. T. seit Jahrzehnten in Österreich leben. Neben Kompetenzen im Deutschen reflektiert das sprachliche Repertoire dieser Sprecher_innengemeinschaft auch die linguistische Vielfalt des Herkunftslandes. Der Anteil an Sprecher_innen von Minderheitensprachen unter türkischen Migrant_innen beträgt annähernd 40% in Europa. Als Grundannahme kann gelten, dass die sprachpolitischen Gegebenheiten des Herkunftslandes in der Migration die soziolinguistische Situation der jeweiligen Sprecher_innengemeinschaften prägen. Die zahlenmäßig stärkste Sprache ist in diesem Zusammenhang das Kurmanji. Da sich die in Graz lebende kurdische Gemeinschaft aufgrund aktueller Entwicklungen in einem Prozess der sprachlichen Transformation und Neuorganisation befindet, werden auch syrische Kurd_innen in die Untersuchung einbezogen.

Link zur Publikation: http://glm.uni-graz.at/publikationen/gps.html

Credits

Ein Projekt von treffpunkt sprachen / Plurilingualismus der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Verantwortliche: Martin Fripertinger, Agnes Grond, Kerstin Gruber, Angelika Heiling, Christina Korb

Zurück